NXT Championship

With the most recent repackaging of NXT in 2012 came the creation of the NXT Championship. It replaced the FCW Florida Heavyweight Championship from NXT’s predecessor. In its history, there have been 16 reigns spread between 14 champions with no vacancies. Only Samoa Joe and Shinsuke Nakamura have the title more than once (twice each). However, Finn Bálor‘s single reign secures the record for longest reign and combined time as champion at 293 days. The current champion is Tommaso Ciampa.


When Florida Championship Wrestling became NXT in 2012, NXT Commissioner Dusty Rhodes established the NXT Championship, which was first won by Seth Rollins in an eight-man tournament. Other than a belt design change, which all NXT titles underwent in 2017, there have been no significant changes with the title. At NXT TakeOver: Toronto, Samoa Joe became the first two-time NXT Champion, a feat Shinsuke Nakamura would duplicate on the December 3, 2016 edition of NXT.

Current Reign

On July 18, Tommaso Ciampa defeated Aleister Black to win the NXT Championship. At NXT TakeOver: Brooklyn 4, he successfully defended the title against Johnny Gargano in a Last Man Standing Match*. His next title defense has yet to be determined.

*This match was initially a Triple Threat Match also involving Aleister Black, but Black was written out of the match due to a legitimate groin injury.