Intercontinental Championship

In its current iteration, the Intercontinental Championship was established in 2003, though its original version was created in 1979. It serves as the midcard title for Monday Night RAW. In its entire history, there have been 183 reigns between 80 different titles holders with 11* vacancies. Chris Jericho currently holds the record for most reigns with nine while the Honky Tonk Man holds the record for the longest single reign at 454 days. Pedro Morales holds the record for most combined days as champion with 619. The current champion is Seth Rollins.

History and Lineage

The Intercontinental Championship was actually created in a kayfabe situation when Pat Patterson unified the legitimate North American Heavyweight Championship and the kayfabe South American Heavyweight Championship in 1979. The title remained active until October 2002, when it was unified with the World Heavyweight Championship, and thus deactivated. In 2003, RAW Co- General Manager reactivated the championship, which was subsequently won by Christian. It is this revived title that currently stands today.

The Intercontinental Championship is often referred to as the “workhorse title of WWE,” as it usually is held by Superstars who are considered top-tier talent due to their hard-working nature during matches and promos. In the modern era, certain Superstars have  become almost synonymous with the Intercontinental Championship, namely the Miz and Seth Rollins.

This title is held in even higher prestige than both the Universal Championship and the WWE Championship by the fans, regardless of who holds it or if they are face or heel. Due to this high regard, WWE typically does allow Superstars in the Intercontinental title picture in the Universal title picture, or WWE title picture, if such a case applies.

Current Reign

The current champion is Seth Rollins, who defeated Dolph Ziggler for the title at SummerSlam. He has yet to defend the title in this reign, as he has been involved in a bigger storyline surrounding the Universal Championship involving fellow Shield members Roman Reigns & Dean Ambrose and Braun Strowman, Dolph Ziggler, & Drew McIntyre. His first title defense in this reign has yet to be determined.

*At one point, Chris Jericho and Chyna were co-champions, however WWE recognizes this time as a vacancy and not an official reign. Therefore, the number of vacancies could be argued as 10.